Vaadin Talk

@thorstenstueker got me interested in Vaadin. I’m still learning how to get started.

This video is interesting as he shows a Hello World. Watch from the start and he’ll explain some stuff and around 10 min in, you’ll see him add a text field, button, and a msg box.

Java looks super familair to me. Very similar to Xojo and PHP languages. :slight_smile:

Tutorial: Tutorial | Vaadin Docs
Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxy2JgqqKDU

My goals:

I’d like to learn how to create forms with inputs that can commit themselves like I do with php/ajax with a variety of inputs triggered by input onChange via MySQL/Maria or similar. An API to the db would be acceptable since it’s not just a web app, if it makes sense.

I’d like the app to deploy to Web, Desktop, iOS, and Android with the same source realizing there could be some target specific code. I’d also like to learn about the workflow to create each target and how to host the web app as I currently use nginx/php.

Basically I want what Geoff Perlman says Xojo can do, but a tool that is actually cross-platform.

So it is simple. First of all, starts with the Desktop. Java Swing provides you with all you need to provide Desktop Applications for all available platforms including MacOS, Linux, Unix, Windows, even on Raspberry PI and all other Types of small linux computers like rock from Radxa. You even can use it as embedded Solution with an internal Monitor for a raspberry (I have several applications builded with this technology stack).

The Logic of this entire App, means the entire Business Logic you can use also for Webapps. Simply take care that your business logic is not tight to the Views but to their own logic classes. So you can write a GUI for your Vaadin Web Application and use exactly the same Logic for the Vaadin Application.