.NET 6 Deep Dive

I think Xojo should be very worried. The hot reload feature alone is a great feature. The demo shows doing live code changes to Android, iOS, macOS, and Windows with one project file/code base. And the web apps are interesting too. .NET 6 will be released in November.

I think this is a game changer. Why would a business use Xojo?

1 Like

I’ve been watching & anticipating C# with MAUI for a while
Its been a gleam in MS eyes for some time

And now its coming into being

It certainly begs the question you asked
Community is free - which already has previews
VS is pretty damned good
If they chunk it all out with VS Mac well …

10 posts were split to a new topic: Xojo Android Summer Preview

Since I was changing to JavaFX I was able to write directly WebApps with WebSwing and Desktop for all platforms and Mobile for IOS and Android and ALL from the same Codebase. All I wanted I got.

As some of you know, my background is .NET, and I’ve been dreaming of a REAL x-platform version of it since, well, forever. I eventually gave up waiting and bought a copy of Xojo in 2019 because I needed to do X-Plat and it’s still the easiest way to do so.

Only now has MS started to take it seriously. BUT…

VS for Mac should not even be called Visual Studio. It bears absolutely no resemblance to the amazing machine that is Visual Studio for Windows. I’d go as far as to say VS for Windows is the best IDE there is. Visual Studio for Mac? Barely an IDE. VS Code is a much better choice for Mac. And yes, Hot Reload is something all IDEs should have. Especially important if they don’t have a visual designer.

SO… They have to figure out how to write Visual Studio in Xamarin/Maui. It’s the only sensible thing to do and what they should have a team doing nothing but this 24/7.