Did I miss something? Bad Xojo vibe?

Hello community!

I didn’t quite understand why there is such a bad vibe against Xojo here in this forum, especially against their CEO Geoff Perlman.

I have been using Xojo for 8 years now and am very happy with it. Among other things, I programmed an ERP software which is marketed as standard software by me.
I use Xojo only for desktop projects.

But I always had the feeling that there are many Xojo fans, the forum and the whole company is considered very positive.

Apparently it is not so. What have I missed? How did this bad opinion about Xojo Inc. and the product come about.

Where do these bashings against Perlman and other employees at Xojo come from?

Please enlighten me… Thanks!

Welcome to INN @Kamuso!

To start with, this forum has many members who got the 1000 years ban on Xojo Inc’s forum. Then, there are many former developers who used Xojo.
For the reasons why people are critical of Xojo and its senior management, please read the threads.
Everything is explained in detail.

P.S. nothing is hidden behind a ‘members’ only wall, no threads are deleted.

3 Likes

So am I understanding correctly that members were banned from the official Xojo forum for having critical discussions about certain Xojo topics?

1 Like

It’s more complicated than that.

Absolutely
Rather than address criticisms Xojo often bans members

Many of the members here have used Xojo for a long time and have been repeatedly disappointed
Most recently there was the promise that Web apps would be able to be transitioned from their old framework (Web 1) to the new replacement (web 2)
That was mentioned more than once

And it never happened
So anyone with a significant web application had to rewrite it
Not a small feat

Android was promised as “coming soon” for several years
Its now in “public beta” but really is, at best, alpha quality