Why no VB Python?

I could have just as easily said “why no xojo version of python” but without getting into the weeds, I wanted to convey that there is no high level vb/xojo approach using python. In fact, there aren’t a lot of toolchains that do anything similar. For example, i saw an old thread here on INN about Elements Compiler which supports a bunch of languages but alas, not python. Why not? Is there a technological issue? As a high level programmer I don’t have a full understanding of the plumbing.

As for “why python?”, well that would be a whole ‘nother thread. It’s popular for a reason though. And before somone says "but white space!’ let me assure you it’s not an issue as i too was concerned. In fact, i started with Ruby but all the cool data science tools are in python. Unless you’re coding in a text document your IDE makes it trivial to deal with the white space. Never once had an issue. And it does force you to make prettier code.

I have gleaned from some reading/conversations that part of the issue is it’s dynamically typed. Frankly, I prefer static typed and see no reason that there isn’t such a version of python (version 3.6 has static type checking).

Anyway, this is just a curiosity. If off-topic was an option i’d put it there.

cheers,

Joe

Garry & I poked around trying to answer this some time back

1. wrapping a python “app” into an executable is kind of a crappy process everywhere
  2. ui binding toolkits arent very mature OR not cross platform

Agreed. That’s been my experience also. It feels like working in a warehouse where you need to climb a ladder to reach everything. A constant effort…

I do wonder how much of this is because in the python space so much seems rooted in academia and there you just send out another python package script etc and everyone always gets all the sources any way ?

It feels like working in a warehouse