Truths they won't tell you about software engineering jobs

I found a lot this is spot on!

2 Likes

It is just like that, and not only in software engineering :slightly_smiling_face:

Yeah, in my electrical engineering days it was the same way. You come out of school thinking you know something when in reality you don’t know shit (yet). I just wish I had had better mentors when I was working as a co-op in the steel mills of Gary, IN. The jobs could have been interesting but my mentors were all crap at providing guidance/advice/interesting tasks. To be fair, it’s not something they were trained for either.

I’ve had much better mentors in the software development side of things. Tried to be a good mentor to my minions as well but probably failed on many levels.

2 Likes

Do you mind sharing where you went to school?

Way back when I don’t think there were many schools with Co-Op. Back when I was an undergrad I remember of hearing of 2 :
Notheastern (where I went) and Drexel.

• Karen

Sure, I went to Illinois institute of Technology in Chicago. It was (and still is) a small private engineering school. Co-op wasn’t huge but it was the only way I got through since it allowed me to earn some money during the work semesters. Without that I’d have had to transfer to a significantly cheaper school.

The steel mills were past their heyday (this was the very late 80’s) and were using co-op engineers as cheap engineering. So, I suspect that the good engineers had found greener pastures before I arrived. Not that there weren’t some good engineers but I think they were overworked and not equipped to handle 19 to 21 years olds that didn’t know their *ss from a hole in the ground.