To wait or not to wait, that is the question

So,

I’ve never used the web framework before, I came to Xojo last November and as there was already lots of buzz about the next framework I decided to wait.

However, now I’m at home all day I’ve completed my workload that was outstanding and am thinking about starting this project. It’s a project for a local non-profit and is taking an existing VB.net application that they have and moving it to the web.

The question that I have is this, if I was to start a project now using framework 1 and designed pages with controls and the code behind them and then move it to Web 2 when it’s released what problems might I come across? What is the most time consuming issue that I am going to have?

That is spooky, I wrote the post above weeks ago and just came to the forum to create a post on something else, typed my post, hit create and it put the old one in!!!

I would wait IF I were you
A new version is in the offing and web 1.0 and web 2.0 arent the same duck at all
How much moves successfully I cant say

FWIW you dont create “pages”
This isnt a web site editor - its a web app (not that many folks know or care about the difference)

If you have access to the prerelease builds of Xojo 2020R1 I’d say go for it now. Just jump in with Web 2.0. If you don’t have access then, as @npalardy says, I’d definitely wait.

First rule of fight club
No one talks about fight club :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Thanks both,

Not sure if you read what I wrote underneath the original post but I typed the post above many many weeks ago before they even released the Web 2 videos and for some reason this forum only posted it today when I tried to post something else! Must have saved it as a draft or something.

I already am a Xojo Tester and do have the pre release version and am coding the app in Web 2. I upgraded my licence to Web after a chat with Greg O’Lone.