TCPSocket MacOS vs Windows

I have a cross-platform app I wrote in Xojo. Uses TCPSockets.

Works fine in MacOS, but chokes on Windows.

It’s receiving a data via TCPSocket, and all is well until a large packet arrives. (1460 bytes). The TCPSocket in MacOS receives it properly, but in Windows, it receives only 1308 bytes.

Using Wireshark I can see the difference and an indication of the error in Windows, but I’m no networking expert and can barely figure out Wireshark.

My questions:
Does maybe the Windows TCPSocket have a smaller buffer or something?
Is there something different I have to do on Windows with TCPSockets for large packets?

Hopefully someone has run into this and can offer some suggestions. Thanks!

Can you paste versions with the IP Header expanded please? I am wondering if the DF bit is set on your windows trace.

What version of Windows are you using?

Are these traces both from your same location - is this location home or corporate network?

Thanks

never never never assume that a “packet” sent will be received as one unit
this is almost NEVER true and assuming it will cause issues

Chunks baby - chunks :slight_smile:

Ok, this is weird. On a separate Windows install on the same computer, it seems to be working.
Something funky, I’d love to know what in case I have users finding the same problem.

Windows 7 x64, and MacOS Mojave, same network home network (wired), speaking to the same device.

I’ll post some more screenshots once I fully test this seemingly working copy.

different network adapter different buffer sizes etc etc etc

and, you can get seemingly random results IF you assume that what got sent from one end arrives at the other in ONE data available event

mostly it wont

Figured it out.