Swift for Developement

I am going to assume since it was not mentioned otherwise that conversations, tip and tricks about using Swift for iPhone/iPad/AppleTv/AppleWatch is an acceptable line for topics here.

you betcha !
no “Xojo only” filter on here

From the announcements about IfNotNil

If Not Nil is a forum dedicated to cross-platform development, primarily with the Xojo programming language although we welcome discussion about any tool that makes building apps easier.

That pretty much what I thought, but didn’t know if the intent was to be “Mostly Xojo, with stuff that might fit in with it” or “Discussions about Programming tools, for example Xojo”. I see that most of the people I see are from the Xojo forum.

What I am looking for is others with an express interest in Swift, regardless of experience. I for example am self taught, loathe Interface Builder and Autolayout, yet have been sucessful in creating various iOS apps in 100% code. And would like to chat with others, to provide the ideas I have had, the lessons I have learned so far (no expert to be sure), and to also learn with others.

For example the other day I had a need for a MsgBox control and an InputBox (ala VB). both of course can be created by using UIAlertController… but the level of customization was not there (I needed to apply themes so they matched the visual aspects of certain apps more closely).

This taught me how one can created a “somewhat modal control” that can be called from any main view, by just adding as little as 3 lines of code to call it.

yeah initially the site is mostly Xojo folks but wince Xojo is really about x-platform programming there are lots of other tools that fit in with that

so if/when you see questions about it feel free to reply

unfortunately swift isnt used very widely as an x-platform tool - it may get there

A post in the tutorials about how to do these things in Swift would be a decent place for those instructive type posts