Superscript & Subscript for TextArea on Linux?

I‘m using MBS to add superscript and subscript to my TextArea, but MBS only supports it for Mac & Windows.

Does anyone know how to do it for Linux?

Not an answer to your question… Does the MBS plugin let you not super and subscript the same same symbol leading and trailing?

Ans example of trailing (the most common case) would be something like SO**-2**4

Where the 4 is a subscript and -2 as superscript?

A leasing would be 23892U where 238 is a superscript and 92 is a subscript with proper justification (the last digit of both numbers up against the U).

As a chemist I have had write code to handle drawing such things a number of times over the years in line with other text. I don’t think even MS Word handles that outside the equation editor.

-Karen

Some of there are just utf-8 characters but I dont know if thats sufficient for your needs ?

That is fine for a single super or subscript but not when you have both at the same time for the same symbol.

What happens then is that one or the other is offset from the symbol by the width of the one which comes first

So It fine for polynomials as they only have superscripts, or most uncharged chemical formulas as they only have subscripts, but not the general case when the same symbol can have both.

-Karen

which is why I said

apparently the answer for writing chemical fomulae its not

Excuse my chemistry but isn’t it SO4 -2?

SO4-2 is easy and works fine with MBS in a TextArea on Mac and Windows.

However Linux is not supported.

And for on here simply use the <sub> and <sup> html codes.

But don’t you see the issue with that? The -2 should be next to the oxygen, not spaced after the subscript… If the subscript was 2 or 3 digits it would be even more obvious… And how it looks depends on if the super or subscript occurs first.

Just for illustration:

S4442

S4442

-Karen