SQL Question

(If it matters this is postgreSQL and I am not very experienced with SQL)

Say I have 3 tables:
User, Department and UserDept (a user can be a member of more than one department). Partial tables shown below

The department manager should be a member of the department and I want that enforced by the DB server but the complication here is the fact that a user can belong to more than one department .

One way to so that is to allow any user to be made department manager, and then if they are not already a member of the department the should server auto create an entry in the UserDept table… But I am not sure how to do that. If there is a straight forward to do that way please let me know.

The more obvious way would be to require that the user first be required to be made a member of the department, then one could just have the user picked from the department members as defined in the UserDept table…See he partial table definitions below:

But then what happens if the User is deleted to the ManagerKey field? I would just want ManagerKey set to NULL (which is straight forward for a single field foreign key reference)… I certainly Don’t want the Department Table Primary key set to NULL , the record deleted or have an invalid manager key stick around!

From reading docs and looking at on-line examples I am not sure how how to do this… Does anybody know how to handle this?

Thanks
-Karen

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS UserTable( 
	Key0             	SERIAL PRIMARY KEY,
	FirstName			TEXT NOT NULL,
	LastName			TEXT NOT NULL);

CREATE Department( 
	Key0            SERIAL PRIMARY KEY,
	Name			TEXT NOT NULL,
	ManagerKey		INTEGER ,
    FOREIGN KEY (ManagerKey, Key0) REFERENCES UserDept( UserKey, DeptKey) ON DELETE SET NULL);

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS UserDept( 
	UserKey			INTEGER   NOT NULL REFERENCES UserTable(Key0) ON DELETE CASCADE,
	DeptKey			INTEGER  NOT NULL REFERENCES Department(Key0) ON DELETE CASCADE,
	PRIMARY KEY (UserKey, DeptKey) );