Moving to greener sources of energy

I find the ‘green’ energy motivation and politics are just a method for the government to increase taxes. I work in the oilfield and the amount of oil is increasing and demand is going higher.

Green energy requires more oil. Oil is needed to make solar panels, wind turbines, etc. The only thing that seems to have changed is taxes.

In my +30 years in the oilfield, energy waste has accelerated due to the green movement.

There is increased demand for coal, oil, nuclear, and other forms of energy because of solar and wind generators.

I thought the green movement was supposed to be good?

2 Likes

As far as I understand whats going on in Alberta the more green energy you have the more policy says you have to have sufficient traditional sources to cover them IF they are unavailable.

Since there are/were incentives for installing green energy projects but NOT requiring storage or any other means to turn intermittent sources into more stable supplies you end up with an increase in traditional power sources to back those green sources JUST IN CASE

Stable supply from green sources that can cover base loads would alleviate and reduce this but there are no incentives for creating such power projects
So they dont happen
And we build more gas fired plants

Nuclear, however, wouldn’t require such a set up since it is more like traditional supplies that can cover base loads

I agree with your theory about more sufficient traditional sources and the story that the media is attempting to portray. However, the opposite is what has occurred. This is just my experience (Not expert) over the last 8-years or so.

Global, federal, provincial, and local demand have all increased. Even more coal, oil, and nuclear is requested due to the sporadic supply of electricity due to green sources. Rolling blackouts are being drafted by politicians as mandatory because of poor green energy policies.