If you had to

IF you had to write a mobile app what env would you pick ?
And why ? MUST support iOS and Android

My first thought it go with VS Code and .NET Maui. Hard to go wrong with Microsoft being behind it and apparently committed to it. This means a lot of 3rd party developer support too. And they’ve been doing it for a while now so it’s not something brand new that looks good for simple demo’s but a history. Easy to find training. Easy to find developers with knowledge - especially for mobile.

3 Likes

You wouldn’t happen to know anyone taking on “contract” work that is/was a Xojo dev that could “port” an existing iOS Xojo app ?

I have no personal experience with it (or mobile in general) , but people here have mentioned B4X which supports iOS and android.

-Karen

Doesn’t it depend on what the app would need to do?

No. Sorry.

CodenameOne. While it compiles on both sides native (the IOS Build is an XCODE Build and the Android Build is Android native. That would be my way to punish an App for both while I have only to build up one UI and then one App in one project on IntelliJ. And, if the project has a Jar size less 8 MB: for free. And 8 MB Jar Size are big. If you want to build local: it is also for free. Only Buildservers are not for free.

Not really no
Since we know it cant be Xojo today (MUST support iOS and Android) I’m looking for recommendations from people who are using other tools already

1 Like

I was developing with the toolchain many app and more than 20000 developers are using codenameone for App development for IOS and Android. So I guess it works. Okay. I don’t guess. I know that it works like a charm.

1 Like

I’ve had limited experience with B4x - both the Android (B4A) and iOS (B4A) seem capable. The developer is also very responsive.

1 Like

I was replying to @MonkeybreadSoftware
not your post :slight_smile: