Expanding my business, need advice!

This is pretty off-topic, but I know most of the other people on this forum are probably way smarter than I am about the software business and definitely better at programming than I am. So I figure this is a good group of colleagues who might be willing to offer me some advice :slight_smile:

As many of you know, I’ve been working on Lightwright for over 40 years (see lightwright.com). By now, the code base is enormous and it’s a complex Xojo app with a mix of old craggy code and better new stuff. I took on a business partner a year ago - he doesn’t know Xojo, but he’s young, had a theater/computer science major in college, and he’s been really good at getting our back-end web site and sales stuff going. He knows the theatrical lighting business and what people do now with Lightwright and is beginning to see what our customers will need in the future. My goal is for him to gradually take over programming and/or running everything while I fade into retirement in the next 5-7 years.

Right now, I’m buried in work 24/7 fixing bugs, doing tech support, and planning for the next round of major improvements. We need to bring on one or two additional people, primarily to help with writing code. All my business friends say we shouldn’t hire employees, we should find independent contractors to do the work. I’ve never been a contractor, only worked for myself, but I used to run a scene painting business that had employees so I know the headaches involved.

OK, how much $$ are we looking at for Xojo contractors? Where do I find Xojo them, and how do I evaluate their work or suitability for what we’re doing? Do consulting request posts on the Xojo forum or this forum produce results? What pithy advice can you offer me?

Thank you!

• John