Calling exiftool with Process() in Swift

I’m trying to use Process() in Swift to call exiftool and having no success.
I’ve done this many times in Xojo but can’t get it figured out in Swift.

Has anyone here done this or perhaps can offer some advice?

Thanks
_
Phil

I have never done this, but can see a situtino where I might.

Post whatever code you have tried, and what seems to not be right

for macOS or iOS (it could make a huge difference)

I’ve figured out a way to accomplish it.
(For Mac OS)
There may be better ways but I’m new to Swift ant this was what I was able to figure out.

func exiftoolVersion() -> String {

let task = Process()
let pipe = Pipe()

task.standardOutput = pipe
task.arguments = ["-ver"]
task.executableURL = URL(fileURLWithPath: "/usr/local/bin/exiftool")
do {
    try task.run()
    task.waitUntilExit()
}
catch {

}

let data = pipe.fileHandleForReading.readDataToEndOfFile()
var output = String(data: data, encoding: .utf8)!

output = output.filter { !$0.isWhitespace }
return output

Have you googled this?
I found dozens of EXIF solutions that DO NOT require an external tool

extension UIImage {

func getExifData() -> CFDictionary? {
        var exifData: CFDictionary? = nil
        if let data = self.jpegData(compressionQuality: 1.0) {
            data.withUnsafeBytes {
                let bytes = $0.baseAddress?.assumingMemoryBound(to: UInt8.self)
                if let cfData = CFDataCreate(kCFAllocatorDefault, bytes, data.count), 
                    let source = CGImageSourceCreateWithData(cfData, nil) {
                    exifData = CGImageSourceCopyPropertiesAtIndex(source, 0, nil)
                }
            }
        }
        return exifData
    }
}

as an example (I have not yet tried this) and this particular example is iOS

1 Like