API1, API2 & Xojo.Core Question

I have a couple of hopefully quick questions regarding the frameworks and general technology direction. I have some solid experience with API1 and am beginning to ramp with API2. There was a period of time in between where I was following along, but not very closely. IIRC, prior to API2 there was another next gen. framework that was going to be one ring to rule them all so to speak, across all platforms. From my understanding this path forward will be fulfilled instead with API2.

So my question is really around guidance and how to address new projects. I’m sort of assuming that moving to API2 is likely the right path forward long term, in spite of various bugs that might need to be addressed (heck it’s not like API1 didn’t have bugs as well). And from what I can gather, using newer versions of the IDE will default to API2 anyway, correct?

But where I’m semi-confused is that I’m looking at PreferencesKit where Xojo.Core, Xojo.IO and Xojo.Data are used. Are these part of that interim framework between API1 and API2? If so, what’s the long term plan for this framework? Maybe this is a vestige of iOS and will resolve itself once API2 lands on this platform?

PreferencesKit is not an Xojo product/framework, it was created 2 years ago (according to GitHub) by Garry… so it probably adheres to API1.0

The rule of the thumb… don’t plan your work on pipe dreams that Xojo says are coming “soon”, based it on what you have available right now

Yes, absolutely from @Garry but Xojo.Core is from Xojo so I’m just a bit perplexed as to where it comes from.