The future of Xojo

I’ll begin by stating that I am not a professional developer. I’ll add that I don’t have any real need (any longer) for cross platform development tools.

In various jobs over the years I’ve found the need to develop applications and tools to improve efficiency and workflows and did that with Turbo Pascal, RB… now Xojo.

Many of the issues I see being discussed by long time pro users of Xojo aren’t issues that I personally have. Xojo does what I need and it does it quite well. I find its performance to be fast enough and it’s very easy for me to develop what I need quickly. I don’t care that some interface elements aren’t as flexible or modern in appearance as native controls, the bugs I hear griped about aren’t things that I’ve encountered. I don’t care about web, iOS, Android… I don’t have a massive code base that would be affected by a new API…

Not to discount any of those concerns at all – just that Xojo fit’s my needs.

All of that having been said, my fear is for Xojo’s survival. If the exodus of long time users and professionals is as the forums seem to suggest, I wonder if it will be able to survive, even if only to serve users like me.

All of this pushes me (somewhat reluctantly) towards other tools. I say reluctantly because I’m not sure that I have the time to devote to learning another development environment to the same level I have with Xojo.

Not a rant. Not even much of a question. More of a frustrated comment.

Cheers

1 Like

Well, it’s a private held company and as long as Geoff (and other share holders) are willing to lend it money, it can’t really go bust.

And I know hundreds of Xojo developers, which will continue to buy licenses for as long as Xojo keeps their apps running over years.

For desktop, the world looks better than for Web currently.
But I expect the Web Stuff gets fixed and next spring we can start moving a few projects over from Web 1 to Web 2.

1 Like